Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Reading week, of the irony So, another reading week has passed, and this time i actually took some time to rest for once. I tried to do some work, but mainly just pissed it away watching movies and lazing around, which i really have no complaints about. it was nice to wake up and realize nothing to urging was to be done, though i still created minor problems for myself in terms of getting things done. really, what is it with me. that was a hypothetical, so yeah. but, here's a brief some up of some of the things i managed to do, including renting movies, which has been sorely missed for at least 6 months.
Movies I saw:
Constantine Disappointing, to say the most. I had high hopes for this satanic romp, but in the end, it was just meh. I don't exactly know why, some of the visuals were intriguing, especially the film's version of hell's underbelly, but it was only shown for maybe 5 seconds at the most. It was populated with interesting characters, though, and Reeves was in fine form, as I believe he usually is. But, every time Weisz was on-screen, I just cringed. I don't know what it was, but she just wasn't interesting as a character. And since the whole plot of the film revolved around her, sorta, it just fell flat. There were many other interesting characters, though, including Djimon Honsou's (sic?) scene-stealing Papa Midnight, the angles/demons Balthazar and Gabriel, and a particularly amusing Satan (Peter the man Stormare). Overall, it just dulled me.
Edge Codes: Art of Motion Picture Editing A very interesting topic, though it felt at times like I was attending an engaging film class rather than a documentary. Still, intriguing and filled with interesting interviews. There's a review for it floating around the eyeopener's website, if anyone is interested, if not, oh well. A bit redundant at times, though.
Saw I can't believe i put off seeing this for so long. I just kept telling myself, I'll catch it in theatres, don't worry..then, six months later, finally I get this as part of a two-pack renting deal with Shaun of the Dead, which Sharone said he hadn't seen and thus needed to see immediately. But, Saw was inventive, intense, and what a mind fuck of an ending. Seriously didn't see it coming, and i was surprised no one had ruined it for me all this time, or that i hadn't ruined it by reading spoilers here and there. Only downside was the incredibly bad acting, at times. Oh, Cary Elwes, I've always defended you, but now i can understand why you're mainly doing straight-to-vids these days. And screenwriter Leigh Wannel (sic again?), what kind of hubris do you have to play the second lead? And Danny Glover? You are too old for this shit (hey, it needed to be said). And Monica Potter? Wow, you crapped out early with that Julia Roberts look-a-like niche. And Dina Meyer? Where the hell were you? I'm convinced you must've had a bigger role, because i think i saw you there for a sec...ah well, as bad as i'm trashing the acting, it has an excellent ending. and is creepy to boot.
Haute Tension So, the only thing i heard about this french horror/splatter flick was that it had a big twist ending. Argh, I wish i didn't know that, because unlike Saw, I guessed this one five minutes in, even if it is completely inplauisble. I mean, honestly, if you;'ve seen the film you know what I'm talking about (and a lot of it has to do with that car chase business...that's all i'm saying). Otherwise, though, true to its name, this film was incredibly, er, tense and i couldn't take my eyes off it. Scary, disturbing stuff. Well crafted and atmospheric, reminds me of more old-school takes on the horror, just unrelenting stuff. Still, the ending felt tacked on and unnecessary.
Bourne Supremacy I liked the first one a lot, more than I probably should've, and I've again been putting off seeing this one. But, with renting comes finding movies you'd forgotten about. It was about on par with the first, with a nice first fifteen minutes that would've been more surprising if i hadn't ruined it for myself months earlier with prior knowledge. Though at times a bit confusing, but not too much, I did kinda sorta fall asleep during the climactic car chase. I blame a general day of running all over, renting movies.
Battlestar Galactica: The Miniseries This was something I've heard about and was vageuly interested, but not until Sharone said it was amazing did I give it a chance. And, surprisingly, he was right. It's a well crafted, mythology-dense, impressive jumping point for the series, which I have yet to see (both original and new), but now I desperately need to see the new series (not the old, which i hear is kind of silly). An excellent twist at the end as well (again with the twists!). Plus, numerous Canadian actors, yippee.
Dark Water So, this has been sitting on my shelf for a while, and only when Matt called to ask if i had it did i finally remember about it. So, I, Matt, and Robyn decided to pop it in. They were scared shitless at times, though i was more "meh." A typical stab at little girl ghost revenge tales, getting far too familiar in the slow-burn j-horror genre. Inject some life into this, people! I can only hope the remake with Jennifer Connely (and shot in Toronto) is better, but, I doubt it.
Bad Education Ah, Almodovar. It was typical of his work, surprising, funny, touching, painful at times to watch. Still, an impressive film that leaves your mind cloudy for hours afterwards. Definitely not the feel-good film of the season, nor as emotionally effective as Talk to Her, but still a fine film.
Stacy Oh Moses, smell the roses, this film was awful. I've been wanting to see it ever since my japanese zombie movie craze a bit ago, but after finally renting it and actually fast forwarding through parts, i just give up. Shot on awful, amateurish digital video with a cast of community theatre rejects, and terrible, awful gore effects, this was just a disappointment supreme. Not even in-jokes, made redundant by their constant referencing, about Romero and Evil Dead couldn't save this wreck. Just awful, really. Not even bad-fun, just bad.
The Office: First Season I caved and got the entire collection for like $35 used, even though it turned out to be new! Yay. But, I've managed to watch the first season so far, out of two and a special, and at first I was wary. The pilot is hard to get into, using the faux-documentary approach, and the subtle humor was at first too subtle. But, by the second ep, I was hooked. Hilarious, ribald stuff. I have no idea how they're going to ape this in the US version starring Steve Carell and Rainn Wilson. After watching this, though, you will never want to work a 9-5.
..and now... Off to watch "Kung-Fu Hustle", which i finally found a decent copy of, wee.
Where were you in '62? Been a while since a proper post, and I'm afraid it'll be even longer. But, for the sake of posperity, or whatever, he's something sort of new:
YOUR SENIOR YEAR OF HIGH SCHOOL. [What year was it?] - Hmm, i think, to the best of my memory, 2001-2002? I think? Is that right? I think it's right.
[What were your three favorite bands?] - Dave Matthews Band - Everclear - Beck
[What was your favorite outfit?] - Jeans/khakis (i think moreso khakis..it used to be real hassle to get me into jeans, believe it or not), t-shirt (probably the dave matthews one i hold so dear), and, of course, plaid shirt. Look how much i've progressed
[What was up with your hair?] - I had slightly more of it
[Who were your best friends?] - Ah, the good ol' Tony Hawk gang before any sort of great chasm: Sharone, Mark, Eli, Dave, Jesse, and Eric
[What did you do after school?] - Watch tv, eat nachos, go see a movie if it was a friday (huzzah), hang out at each others' houses and play endless rounds of tony hawk on n64 or playstation, ponder meaningless of this and that, engage in general geekery
[Did you take the bus?] - Only as a last resort when a car wasn't available, particularly to work all the way in the woods of Richmond Hill, otherwise, i tried to avoid it at all costs
[Who did you have a crush on?] - Ah, Ms. K Dunst, you still reign
[Did you fight with your parents?] - Nope
[Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on?] - Oh, wait, i technically already answered this one..hmm, let's say as a second choice, Gillian Anderson (hey, i told you i was a nerd..this may have been more of a freshmen/junior highschool year thing, though)
[Did you smoke cigarettes?] - Nope
[Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack all day because you were too nervous to find your locker?] - Too nervous to find my locker? Uhm, no. Ever use my locker? Ha, also, no.
[Did you have a 'clique'?] - As much as 5-7 guys with the occassional two girlfriends between them is a clique, sure, we had a clique
[Did you have "The Max" like Zach Kelly and Slater?] - Unfortunately, no. Most likely it was one of our houses or a variety of local coffee shops. Speaking of which, though, what happened to that actor who played Max? He was on it for like one season, did his schtick, and then disappeared...i think Slater killed him
[Admit it, were you popular?] - I had so many people trying to be me, i eventually put out a copyright. That's right, this trademark smarm and cynicsm has been carefully cultivated...ah, yeah, i'm going to stop. I like to think i drifted from crowd to crowd pretty easily. For the uber-popular crowd, like the replicants from the OC and such, I was fairly consistent, but i think they kept me around more for comic relief, or some such
[Who did you want to be just like?] - Someone with a car of thier own
[What did you want to be when you grew up?] - Someone involved, somehow, with movies. Also, perhaps the occssional dab into the high-stkaes world of international espionage
[Where did you think you'd be at the age you are now?] - Hm, an intriguing question. But, at the time, definitely not here, that i can say for sure. This doesn't mean i don't want to be here, though. Just, I didn't think it'd turn out this way.
Not sure.. So, tonight i thought i saw someone who i hadn't seen in a while, but before my mind could process anything, it was too late. it was an odd moment, and one i kept for too long...but, now i can't shake it if it was really the person or not. but, not losing sleep over it. confirmation is always a bonus.
i can't bring myself to set the scene i need to vent, because this is getting ridiculous (sic?). it seems just that every time i have a compeltely good few days, my mind has to go searching for reasons to fuck it up. i honestly truly did have a great few days, this afternoon was filled with free magazines and good food and last night was great too, but once one thing in my head worries about something, it never lets go. like a fucking steal trap, my neuroticisms are. and once that thing i was worried about kinda passes, i immediately jump into something else, going over the minutae of that problem in its smallest, tiniest itty bitty detail. it's a problem, and i'm not sure it can stop. but really, it's at its mildest fucking annoying.
Dear things i want to go away forever.. - Profile: please do. i'm sick of staring at your narrative-less, detail-less, plodding words
- Upcoming politics essay: i haven't even thought about you, but i know i don't like ya
- Anything to do with Diversity Class: congratulations, you're the new SOC300. useless and a total waste of time/money
- lack of sleep: well, you know
- i thought i had more things, and i was truly venemous when starting this post...my energy faded
2005: Year of the Cinema Hey all. Well, since I should really be doing a lot of work, but, fuck it, i say. I am in a filmic mood, and so, here is my list, by date, of all the movie's i'm looking forwards to this year. It looks to be one of those years, I'm hoping, that may live up to the promise of 1999, the last great year of the film. Seriously. Look up what came in '99, and you'll see for yourself. Any ways, here goes, i'm sure i'll be missing something, though:
Feb:
Bride and Prejudice - The trailer's up at Apple, it looks like a hoot, and from a very talented director, starring one of the more beautiful women in the world. No joke, look at Rai, look at her!
Inside Deep Throat - A promising documentary. Not just for the obvious.
Ong-Bak - Okay, I've already seen this ages ago, but it's finally making its way into theatres. See it, and be amazed.
Constantine - Sure, there's a lot of griping over the lack of Britishness and such, but it looks damn cool. And Peter Stormare as the devil, perfectly cast.
Mar:
Be Cool - Lack of Sonnenfeld disturbs me, but look at that cast. It looks like a hell of a lot of fun.
The Jacket - Looks decent and creepy enough.
A Sound of Thunder - This has been long-delayed, but still looks interesting take on the Bradbury genius. Anyone who's seen the infamous Simpsons ep with Homer's magical toaster will finally be able to appreciate it all the more.
Millions - Danny Boyle goes family-friendly. The trailer is schizophrenic enough to make me trust him.
The Upside of Anger - This one's been getting a lot of press lately, but I don't buy Mike Binder's style. Who knows, could be a significant sleeper.
The Ring 2 - It's bad for me to admit, but I still haven't seen Ringu or its many spinoffs, but the first Ring was interesting, and surprisingly coherent, enough, so I'll give this one a shot. Plus, original director Shizmu at the helm.
Melinda and Melinda - Or, Will Ferrel movie of 2005 #1 out of approx. #18. Seriously, the guy has more projects than Jude Law lined up this year. But, this one looks the most promising as of the moment. Woody Allen looks like he's back in his element. Plus, Wallace Shawn!
Kung Fu Hustle - Stephen Chow's latest cartoon come to life. I have a very poorly pirated copy sitting on my shelf, but I can't bear to watch it without proper sound and crisp picture. This film will own you.
Steamboy - If the pace was tightened from the cut i saw at the TIFF this year, it could be an underground hit, like Cowboy Bebop, if not bigger. Just cut the fat, and it should be good.
D.E.B.S. - This one has also been kicking around a while, but it's about school girls cum secret agents. C'mon.
Old Boy - Again, sitting on my shelf, but this time it was watched. And, i couldn't take my eyes off it. Brutal, twisting, superb filmmaking. See it now. But, not if you're squeemish.
April:
Sin City - Again, look at that cast! If that wasn't enough, how about Tarantino directing a portion? Or the most promising CG blue screen work ever? Or the fact it's all in the original dark, dank hues of Miller's source material? High, high, up in my mind of hype.
Layer Cake - The next best British crime drama to come out since Snatch? Meh, who knows, but looks promising, and Daniel Craig is always good for a look.
Palindromes - Todd Solondz's latest twisto-indulgence.
Crash - I'm surprised, considering the hype, that this wasn't released this year before Oscar season. Watch out for this one, from Canadian Paul Haggis.
3 Iron - I honestly have no idea what it's about, just the hype is steadily building. Could get lost amongst the crowd, though.
May:
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Is this really happening? Or is it a beautiful dream?
Kicking and Screaming - Ah, Will Ferrel and yelling. At children! Hee.
SW: Ep III: Revenge of the Sith - Needs no explanation.
Lords of Dogtown - This was in so many director's hands over the years, I'm surprised it even got off the ground, but here it is all the same.
High Tension - Aka: Haute Tension, aka: Switchblade Romance. I've tried to watch this several times, but dammit, subtitles are never there as advertised. Get ready for hard-core horror, supposedly.
June:
Dark Water - A remake, from Walter Salles of all people, of, again, the Japanese original still sitting on my shelf. Shameful, I admit.
Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang - The heroic return, or dismal re-exile, of Shane Black. Should be fun.
Proof - Again, surprised this wasn't thrown in for Oscar consideration, considering the source material at least. The match of Jake Gyllenhal and Gwenyth Paltrow seems a bit odd at first glance, but who knows. Perhaps that's why it was pushed back.
Mr. and Mrs Smith - Doug Limon and what looks like a good, dark, comedy. Decent cast, too.
Batman Begins - Yes! Yes! and...yes!
War of the Worlds - Meh, I should be more excited, but I'm not.
July:
Fantastic Four - Strangely, i am pumped for this sure to be trainwreck.
Undead - If you look hard enough, this can be viewed now for a mere couple bucks on dvd. If not, though, wait until this hardgore zombie aussie hit arrives stateside.
Bewitched - Ferrel!! Kidman, plus half the cast of the Daily Show make this one a must-see. Plus, an uber clever, meta concept. Watch for this to hit big.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory - Depp. Burton. Weirdness is bound to ensue.
Wedding Crashers - Ferrel, Wilson, and Vaughan. Plus, Walken. Don't they ever tire of each other?
The Island - The twist behind this one's been spoiled for me already, but expect snazzy production values, at the very least.
Elizabeth Town - Cameron Crowe's new film. With Kirsten Dunst! I am officially in love.
Sky High - Bruce Campbell in a mainstream movie. With Dave Foley and Kurt Russel to boot.
Plus, it's about super heroes. Hope this isn't played out by the time the Incredibles hits dvd.
The Brothers Grimm - This one has been in hellish rumors forever, but who knows. I have trust in the Gilliam.
August:
Untitled Mike Judge Project - Luke Wilson wakes up in a futurama-like incident, and finds he's easily the smartest man alive. Smart comedy from a smart writer/director.
Everything is Illuminated - Liev Schriber is one of my fav undernoticed actors, and this is his directorial debut.
The Devil's Rejects - As much as i hated, HATED, House of 1,000 Corpses, the sequel still intrigues me.
Sept:
Syriana - Latest Clooney/Soderbergh/Damon collaboration, this time tackling a far more difficult topic than lucrative thefts.
A Scanner Darkly - Hunt for the images of this, Linklater's new rotoscope pic in the vien of Waking Life, and drool. It's also based on Philip K. Dick's trippy mindbender, so expect no mercy.
Corpse Bride - How they got a trailer up for this over at Apple is puzzling. But, if you liked Nightmare Before Christmas, this is right up your creepy woods.
Serenity - Yes!!!!! Finally, Whedon fans rejoice.
October:
Land of the Dead - Drool. Gore. Drool.
Jarhead - Trust me on this: It will dominate the awards next year. I'm willing to make a bet. Anyone?
The New World - Terrence Malick actually made a movie in less than two decades since his last? How very odd.
November:
Art School Confidential - Terry Zwigoff's new film.
All the King's Men - Jude Law, Sean Penn, and others tackle the remake. Expect it to, considering the politics, cause a stir among critics. Has the potential to be very staid, though.
Domino - This, honestly, is one of the most anticipated flicks for me. The first new material from Donnie Darko's Richard Kelly, directed by master Tony Scott, starring a bevy of names including Kiera Knightley and the Rourke man himself. One of the most talked about scripts floating around for some time, this will make heads spin.
The Fountain - It's a mircale in itself this Aronofsky piece got funding, after Brad Pitt so famously bailed years ago. Trippy new-age sci-fi spanning three centuries about the truth for god and youth. Hyper multi-cuts await.
A History of Violence - David Cronenberg's adaptation of the graphic novel.
Shopgirl - Steve Martin's novel finally takes a swipe at the big screen. Long in gestation.
December:
The Producers - The movie version of the musical based on the movie. Yup. More Ferrel goodness, though!
King Kong - Peter Jackson takes on the beast. With Jack Black! (not as the beast)
Manderlay - Lars Von Trier's sure to be controversial followup to his perplexing Dogville.
Where the Truth Lies - Atom Agoyan's new one.
I'm sure, positive really, I'm missing some. Let me know.