Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Saturday, September 25, 2004
What a waste...
This weekend so far has been one miserable thing after another...thankfully it's more than half over and tomorrow doesn't really count.
Tonight was just an evening where everything that could go wrong, did. It started off well enough, with a rather enjoyable TIFF pic and a nice steak n' eggs with excellent company. It devolved slowly to include just a sampling of the following:
- Early exits
- Vomit (not mine, thankfully)
- Late-night paper towel/water/bread runs
- Fire
- Smoke alarms
- Broken (and loud as hell) washing machines
- Paranoia that I was trapped in an Alfred Hitchcock movie at one point
- Did I mention the fire?
Yeah. I want this night to end. Right now, thank you.
"Tech Supporrrrtttt!" I have to love that line, played to what i contend is still the most eerie/surreal (and apt) usage of the Beach Boys' "Good Vibrations" ever (bonus points if anyone knows what the hell i'm talking about). Any ways, everything around here, being the really non-existent here of the internet, seems to be slowly deteriorating in some way. My archives on here are MIA, which is not so much annoying as just worrying me as to where they went. On the annoying side, though, is my hotmail account, which has had this bothersome habit lately of sending me emails about two days or so after they were written. It's a very out-of-the-loopish feeling, and I don't likes its ones bits.
Being home for the jewish holidays is an odd feeling of sorts. Mainly, I just want out. But, at the same time I feel foolish for thinking it, since I haven't even been living on my own for more than two weeks. It seems silly to be sick of coming home already. But, it still is all the same. Sleeping in my old bed, going into my next-to-barren room (alright, far from barren..there was no way i was going to take the posters down and take all my books). Listening to constant question after question from my parents is interesting, though, i have grown accustomed to just eating my meals in peace, which is a nice feeling. Same with the going and coming as I please. But, I think it's more to do with the reason I'm home more than anything, the jewish holidays that is. I don't want to get into a whole rant on religion, i find reading them tiring and pretentious, and I'm going to assume everyone else does too, so I'll spare it to a few brief thoughts. Essentially, for me right now, faith is a good thing, but I have none. Not in anything passionately, any ways. I don't think about god, or supreme forces at work, and I hate the idea of fate. If there's a heaven or a hell, so be it, but i don't spend a lot of time thinking about it. I used to be very god-fearing, don't do this, etc. But, now I am honestly just too busy making up my own problems in day-to-day life to be bothered with existential and post-life angst. I'm good, thanks. Is there a right religion, is there a wrong one? Meh, who knows, I'm not qualified to answer anything..i've never so much as glanced at the theology section (except those books on supernatural miracles and etc...those are kind of cool and interesting to read).
So, I guess a fair assumption to say is I'm agnostic right now. Maybe there is a bigger purpose to everything, but I don't see it, and I'm not searching for it as of yet, or maybe I never will. My parents like to think they're successful in keeping on pushing me more into judaism, but I don't have the heart to tell them it just isn't working. No matter who many times they force me to march off to synagogue during the high holidays such as these, or how my mom promised to buy me two sets of dishes for when I "really get my own place and get married", I just shrug it off and give off the same air of apathy i've perfected over the years. (i do, however, enjoy reminding them of the mind-numbingly pointless hours i spent in hebrew school..i know exactly three words, and two of them are "shalom"). Wow, for me saying I wasn't going to talk about religion, that sure did turn into a little bit of a rant. I'm terrible at controlling myself. To compensate, here's a SOTD: Super-Special Indie-Hipster Edition. Enjoy.
The Postal Service - Such Great Heights
Bjork - Where is the Line?
Metric - Wet Blanket
Pavement - Conduit for Sale!
The Polyphonic Spree - A Long Day Continues, We Sound Amazed
The Shins - Saint Simon
The Stills - Changes Are No Good
Libertines - The Man Who Would Be King
Modest Mouse - Interstate 8
"Whatever I want...gosh!" - ND Fuck, everything's been so crazy the past week or so. Everything seems to be going at fast motion, go go go, then grinds to a halt. I hate the halt, I need to be constantly busy, constantly shifting and not noticing the grinds when they do come to that inevitable halt.
Living on my own is quite an interesting experience, understate much (i do). There's the grocery shopping, the laundary (ha!), the sleeping in (though i've developed a curious habit of waking up at about the same time for classes that i would if i still lived uptown...habits are hard to break), the going out all night and not really caring when you get home, everything like that, it's all very cool indeed, i must say. So, it's the little things that creep up on you...this year will be done before i even know it, i say that now with all but 9% certainty. I don't want it to, but there it is, i can see it pass me by already. This post is so shitty, I can't write for shit sometime (even if it were for free). See, i mean that post didn't make any sense whatsoever, did it? Meh, who knows. I had this idea of writing about the sounds the city makes sometime, the wafts of cries and laughter and despair over its concrete jungle, but you know, i sort of abandoned that. Back when i make some sense, even if it's only half-hearted sense.
So, it's been pretty busy over here. Everything seems to be set up (and by saying that I know I'm just jinxing myself), with the internet, phone, and cable, and I'm just starting to settle into the groove of things, as the kids say. Today was pretty interesting, with my first trip to the grocery store (i could buy whatever i wanted! no parents to tell me no! nothing discouraging me! except prices). There's the 24-hour Dominion literally around the corner from me, but they can be a bit pricey, so I treked to the No Frills near Bloor and Sherbourne, about a 15-minute walk or so (likely to be more difficult in the winter), so that was fun. Except the fact when I realized once I had bought everything, I had to get it back to the apartment somehow. Being a cheap-bastard, I didn't want to take the bus, so I stuffed as much as I could into my backpack and carried the rest very gingerly. Needless to say, I can barely feel my back right now, and what I do is screaming out in spinal pain. Lesson learned: buggy time, or bus time.
And still with a few things to do today (namely LCBO-hitting and getting stamps and stuff I forgot at the No Frills...like, you know, milk and juice...non-essentials). Oh, yeah, and books. I should get those, but I'm afraid of the hit my wallet will take. It's already so poor from TIFF ticket buying in the wee hours this morning (me and Jacq hit the annual early-morning sales around 4:45 am or so...thank goodness for my day off). But, I'm really excited that we got some pretty interesting movies, though sad (but not shocked) that "I Heart Huckabees" was gone, as numerous other ones (sorry Joolia! we'll see it when it hits normal theatres, promise).
Now, onto more stuff and junk, before my back completely breaks.
Alright, so everything seems to be working alright here now. Internet's hooked up (funny how reading the instructions works), telephone is up, tv also. (And by typing these words, I know I'm just jinxing everything to hell). Film fest tickets were also bought (no "I Heart Huckabees", though, unfortunately), and wow I'm using a lot of parantheses today. I'm still unsure of everything, not necessarily just one thing, academic or otherwise, but it will take a while to get used to everything down here, it's all so new. Back later.
Here, Alive and Kicking...And On An Intolerably Slow Connection
Hi, people. I'm here at the new place. Everything is moved, it's pretty final. And now I'm strangely bored out of my mind. I'm here in the heart of the city, but the roommate is out and the internet connection is going all wonky (i think i'm siphoning [sic?] someone else's connection in the building), and I'll be surprised if I'm kicked off of this before i can post. But, yeah, I wanted to go grocery shopping, but alas all the stores are closed, so that will have to wait until tomorrow night most likely. So, here and alive. All is well so far, i'll check in soon once I have this internet thing figured out.
"I've Got A Theory...Maybe It's Bunnies" So, tomorrow is the big day. The final, complete, 100% this-time move-in day. I've got none of the stuff I need packed (which is okay, there isn't too much other than what i'm typing on right now and the small knolls of clothes scattered on my floor). But, other than that, this is actually my last night at home for a bit (well, until the jewish high holidays next week, in which i'm pretty much forced home for a couple days...straight in the middle of the film fest and an apparent ben folds concert too...). So, it's kind of strange, if I took the time to think about it, which I'm certainly not at the moment. I'm listening to some music, talking online, and generally putting the week ahead out of my mind, where it shall thoroughly stay until I actually have to deal with it. I tend to do that.
But, the point I was trying to get to, is I have no idea how long it will take me to figure out how to set up a wireless router in the new place (supposedly there's one set-up already, but we'll see how much i can fuck it up). But, we'll see. I'll see you all (i avoided the urge for a southern drawl there..yay me) soon, though, with adventures of new places and things and other nouns.
"You Are Strange and Off-Putting" Yeah, I have no idea what to write anymore here. Film lists and vague mental meanderings on life's vagueness are all well and good, but now I'm just stuck. So, I don't know, throw me some ideas, people! Yes, you, person reading this. Don't worry about that title there, i don't find you off-putting. Well, except that one person reading this, you know who you are, you smug bastard (yes, i've gone quite insane). A survey would be appreciated, just email it to me or something. Or throw out a topic. I need the boost here (and yes, this is a desperate ploy for comments). I just don't know what to write here anymore.