Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Thursday, December 30, 2004
I'm tired of my break... I have decided, after much contemplation, that i'm not such a big fan of the constant working thing. Is there some way i can get out of it? Like, if i was a hitman, i would only have to work a few times a year. I think that would be a good solution. Seriously, the break is almost at an end, and I've barely had a chance to glance at my winter break reading list. And I've got roughly 98 hours of dvd material to watch (i kid you not), and that just takes so much more precendence.
Merry Xmas, From Cynicsm "The approach of Christmas brings harassment and dread to many excellent people. They have to buy a cart-load of presents, and they never know what to buy to hit the various tastes; they put in three weeks of hard and anxious work, and when Christmas morning comes they are so dissatisfied with the result, and so disappointed that they want to sit down and cry. Then they give thanks that Christmas comes but once a year."
Whoever can tell me who said this quote will recieve a very-special xmas present from yours truly, good luck and happy holidays!
Baby, it's cold outside I've tried writing a post for the past few days, and now it's especially bad since i got a paper cut on my left thumb and two on my right index finger from folding boxes at work. these aren't your run-of-the-mill filing and processing paper cuts, either, these are heavy duty cardboard cuts and hurt like something derogatory. but, yes, that's pretty much been my sked for the past few days, and likely will be until the end of the break. i've been working non-stop since sat, and the only repreive i'll get is a nice three-day break for xmas, boxing day, and next monday. during which, at least xmas itself, will be quite relaxing and most likely incredibly boring, since the world seems to go to sleep that day, well, i'm sure people are doing something, but for me it's as if everyone disappeared. i gotta admit, it's neat living alone (the roommate is away on vacation until school starts back up), but incredibly lonely at points. here i am, big ol' apartment, i can do anything i literally want, but, truthfully, i do miss the company. it's weird going to bed in an empty place. i thought i might have something here, but it's annoying to type with my finger hurting so much. plus, i'm far too tired. after work each day, i vow to get started on a list of break-related activities and projects, yet after dinner i'm just too wiped to do anything. i managed to barely get the laundry in, so i mark that as an achievment. oh, and shaving. i shaved prematurely tonight because i know i won't be in the mood tomorrow before work, so i think that's quite the feat too.
I woke up at 5 this morning feeling like the shit under shit..and i proceeded to try and get up afterwards..for the new six hours...and now it's almost 1, and i just got up, but i'm shivering, and my head weighs more than tha jerry maguire kid said it should, and my eyes are heavy and something is wrong in my stomach, like i ate something alive and now it's scratching its way to get out. i know, not a nice image, but...ughghgh
Fcuk Sometimes, i don't know what's good for me, and i honestly think i predestine myself to fuck up. I just want to stop worrying about everything, every moment, but i guess that would mean i wouldn't care about anything. and i can't do that. it's all that matters.
If it wasn't strange, what would it be? I had a dream last night, and just to briefly catalogue it for myself, it involved the following:
- Niagra falls
- A missed turnpike to Cleveland
- Various characters from The Fantastic Four, though The Thing played the most noticeable role
- Zombies
- A military wedding
- Two people from high school
- Mass carnage
- Carjacking
- Souvenir shops
- Gruesome newspaper headlines/photos
- Alan Cross talking about the history of the CD (part of this dream happened while the radio was on this morning)
It's the "big show", now, ladies and gents Hey, check this link over here at moviepoopshoot.com for an interesting letter and quote towards the end *wink, wink*.
Huh, So Redbull does work... It's far too late, but today was also far too long of a day. But, thanks to my new friendly beverage, i shall never sleep again. It's great! or, uhm, the opposite. meh.
Random radnomness:
- Couldn't resist and went out first thing today and got Carnivale Season 1...worth every penny
- Politics/profile palozza is nearing the end...i think i can see the light...
- Gwen Stefani, get out of my head!!
- and, of course...HAPPY BIRTHDAY JACQ!!
- g'night everyone
Soundtrack for the Impossibly Late Hour Gwen Stefani - What You Waiting For
Rilo Kiley - More Adventerous
Ben Folds Five - One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces
Death From Above 1979 - You're A Woman, I'm a Machine
Elliot Smith - Kings Crossing
Arcade Fire - Wake Up
"I defy you..." to not get overwrought with emotion while listening to Elliott Smith's "A Fond Farewell." I will practically stake my (not to sterling) reputation on it.
Well, Let's Start the Insanity It's been a bit of time since my last update, and even then, i don't think you can consider that an update, gentle viewer. er, reader. btvs joke, i doubt anyone will get it that reads this. the following week shall prove to be insane, as it contains the following:
- english term paper due monday
- politics exam thurs (whose book i haven't even glanced at the past semester)
- profile profile profile madness due friday!! (2,000 words, 6 interviews, and one performance unaccounted for)
On the brighter side of things, saw two very good, but just on that frustrating verge of excellence, over the week: Scorsese's The Aviator and Clint Eastwood's Million Dollar Baby (go press screenings, go). Plus, the truly exciting fact was for Baby i got to see it at the Warner screening room, so that was fun and a nice ego boost. I'd tell my exact opinions, but i think there's a press embargo on it or something, and i don't want to fuck myself over. Read the eyeopener.com, and find out in a few weeks. Also, here's some fun and it's finally done and i've been putting off writing it forever just for lack of time, but here's the coheed and cambria article i did a while back: