Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind
Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Weblog Commenting by HaloScan.com

Wednesday, May 28, 2003  

I'm not in the best of moods right now, as i just wrote for an hour or so about various tangents ranging from why i think too much before i fall asleep, cameron crowe movies, general uneasiness, the weather, my paranoia with said weather, and various other tangents. And now, blogger has taken them, and done whoknowswhat. Please, dear blogger, give them back...

On a lighter note, i'm having another sort of backwards day. When i was brushing my teeth earlier this morning, on my first attempt i missed my mouth completely and ended up brushing the side of my cheek with my toothbursh, toothpaste and all. It's only a matter of time before i hop into the shower with my clothes on...

posted by Barry Hertz | 5:26 PM


Tuesday, May 27, 2003  

I tried to post something last night, but for some reason or another blogger was again not co-operating. And when i tried to reboot my system to try again, internet explorer decided to shut down. Which started to freak me out, but by this time it was close to 2 or 3 or some hour in the morning, and i decided to give it up. Now that i look at it again, it wasn't that much of an entry to begin with, so it's not such a big deal. But when you're trying to post something you've just spent a bit composing online at a time when you should really be sleeping, it sorta frustrated me. Of course, that's not to say this one's a great entry either. At least my internet explorer's working again, though.

I had semi-nightmarish visions in my head late last night of my waking up to find my computer in some sort of decomposed state, with the internet explorer icon madly flashing some digital gibberish about not being able to connect, and me, in some sort of post-traumatic state, trying to call rogers customer service. That's the worst part of the whole thing, the waiting on the phone for technical services while some hellish elevator muzak pumped through the lines like sewage pipes into my ears. Not a great metaphor, not even a metaphor now that i look at it... It worked fine today, though, so the visions were really a lot of trouble for nothing. Aside from that, everything's fairly normal, i suppose. The past couple days have been filled with a haircut, some reading and work, mainly, with the occassional stop-in to Sharone's house, which is now equipped with satellite tv, which is very dangerous for me. He mentioned that if i ever managed to get my hands on something like satellite, they might as well consider me dead to the world, i'd be lost forever. I hate to say that i probably agree with him. I think i need to go for a bit of a walk...

posted by Barry Hertz | 5:17 PM


Saturday, May 24, 2003  

About ten minutes ago i was laying in my bed, trying to fall asleep when suddenly, for some reason or another i haven't yet backtracked through my muddled train of though, i began to think of movie trailers. Just simply thinking about those previews. Which ones i loved, which ones overhyped the film, which ones were terrible but under-represented, which ones were just plain awful, etc. I got the sudden urge to list some of my favorite ones, so now i'm half-awake, listening to some ben folds, and attempting to figure out why i was thinking of movie trailers in the first place. Here are some of my favorite trailers:

Go - I just like it's fevered, energetic pace. Plus the music in it was really good, it really helped the movie look like a nice, little fun Pulp Fiction jr, which is exactly what it turned out to be. Great cast too.
Matrix - I remember i saw the original teaser for this and i didn't think much of it. Looked like a fairly standard sci-fi-techno action pic like Keanu Reeves' disaster Johnny Mneomic (probably spelled that wrong)...but then the full trailer hit and i was blown away. It looked like something special was coming.
Magnolia - I saw this one for the first time in the perfect setting, in a sold-out advance showing of American Beauty downtown, so it was the perfect art-house crowd for another P.T. Anderson epic. When the credits announced "the next film from the creator of boogie nights", the crowd actually started clapping. Plus, the Aimee Mann song "Momentum" in the background and the slick editing of the whole thing completely sold me on it. Plus (i just realized i used "plus" in 2 sentences in a row), it had 4 of my favourite three-named character actors in it, Philip Baker Hall, Philip Seymor Hoffman, William H. Macy and John C. Reily, so i had to love it.
Royal Tennenbaums - I loved Rushmore so much, and i just smiled throughout the whole trailer for Tennenbaums. Perfect music, cast credits, and shots. Couldn't wait until i could see it."Who stabbed you?" "He did."
Matrix Reloaded (teaser) - Perfect atmosphere to see this one. It happend over a year ago when i went to a midnight screening of Star Wars Ep 2 with a sold out audience. As soon as the green letters and numbers started to scroll down the screen the audience went nuts (there was an even bigger reaction to the trailer than there was to the entire star wars movie, which wasn't so far off...).
Snatch - A just knock-out-trailer from beginning to end. I couldn't believe the cast that was in it as they kept on bringing them out against a great song which to this day i have no idea what it was. (I don't think any of that last sentence sounded right....damn good trailer, though). "What do you need a gun for, Tommy? Is it zee Germans?"
Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back (internet-only trailer) - Funniest 2 minutes of film i've ever seen. Anything with Will Ferrel in a forrest ranger's uniform and Tracy Morgan gets an automatic seal of approval.
The Big Lebowski - It doesn't even hint at the great wierdness to come, but anything with a surreal bowling sequence set to music should definitely be up there.
Punch-Drunk Love - Possibly the strangest trailer i've ever seen for one of the strangest love stories i've ever seen. But a really really good strange trailer for a really really good strange love story. Plus, it has Luis Guzman, which equals automatic approval.
Way of the Gun - Gritty violence set to a great Violent Femmes song. Plus, Benecio Del Toro and James Caan, which equals, of course, automatic approval.
American Beauty - I've never heard that Who song ("Baba O'Reilly") used to such a great effect.
John Carpenter's Vampires - It has James Woods... battling vampires...in the desert...Nothing more needs to be added.
Summer of Sam - While thinking about another great use of a Who song (this time "We Won't Get Fooled Again") An amazing trailer, but i thought the movie was kinda underwhelming.
Out of Sight - It doesn't really even give clues to the great Soderbergh editing-spree in the film, but it gives it its great sense of elmore leonard inspired miami-crime-fun. Plus, appearances from automatic-approval candidates clooney, guzman, and albert brooks.
Grosse Point Blank - John Cusack with a great soundtrack behind him. It couldn't go wrong. Plus appearances from Alan Arkin and Jeremy Piven.
High Fedelity - Same as above, except minus the Arkin and Piven with Jack Black and Tim Robbins.
Ocean's 11 (remake) - Light, breezy, and fun (just like the movie). With a combo of soderbergh, clooney, and pitt, all of course guaranteeing automatic approval once again.
Best in Show - I haven't laughed as hard at just a trailer than this one, i think.
Finding Nemo (trailer #3)- I just really love this one. Pixar + Disney can do no wrong, and with Albert Brooks as a neurotic fish and a surfer-turtle to boot, this one just leaves a huge smile across my face every time i see it.
Kill Bill (teaser) - I don't think i can wait until this movie comes out. The trailer has immediate approval factors Michael Madsen and the mere mention of Quentin Tarantino's name, plus the obligatory kung-fu battle and animated airplane landing. Hold on, huh? I'm confused. But it's late, and i still think it's a bloody amazing trailer.

There's probably a hundred other ones in there i'm forgetting, but right now i think i really should have probably stayed back in my bed and written this tomorrow when my mind's a little more stable....still can't figure out why i was thinking of movie trailers in the first place....

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:08 AM


Friday, May 23, 2003  

I just finished watching "The 25th Hour" on dvd. I was really impressed. Especially the ending, it really impacted me in a way i'm not quite sure i can articulate at this hour. It was brutal, though. Not just the ending, but the entire film. It had a very rough undercurrent to it, there was a lot of dirt and grime and basic brutality that ran through the whole film. I can probably talk more about it when i'm not having trouble keeping my eyes open. That'll probably be a better time.

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:17 AM


Thursday, May 22, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day: (I know, i succumbed to temptation....)
Ozma - Battlescars
OAR - Crazy Game of Poker
Weezer - The Good Life
Weezer - Across the Sea
White Stripes - I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself
Ben Folds Five - Army
John Mayer - Neon
Super Furry Animals - Something 4 the Weekend
Manic Street Preachers - Intravenous Agnostic

posted by Barry Hertz | 7:58 PM
 

I've noticed lately that a lot of my posts have been soundtracks for the day or otherwise about music. Not quite sure why that is. Perhaps it's my reluctance to post about other things that are going on, or perhaps it's because i've become obsessed with forming soundtracks for my day. Probably a little bit of both, i suppose.

What i have also become obsessed with lately is the matrix movie. I won't spoil anything about it, but i've become really quite fascinated by it. I've been on countless web sites and read far too many web postings about the thing, trying to figure out various plot twists and the little meanings behind everything. I've read probably more than anyone really should about that movie. But i have found out some interesting things. Some really fascinating-holy-shit-i-can't-believe-the-wachowski-brothers-are-this-deep-and-committed-to-thier-work-and-this-multi-layered-universe-they've-created and etc. I'm probably over-exaggerating, but there's some really interesting stuff in there. Last night i watched the original movie, and i was blown away by how many references there are to the sequel, how it was all so seemingly planned out. It's kinda sad to admit, but the other night i even compiled all the interesting facts and trivia i found out about both movies into one big, long list. Yeah, i said it was pretty sad, but to defend myself, i was rather bored at the time too. I find myself doing some pretty wierd things when i'm bored. For instance, a few weeks ago i was really bored and i happened to be on the internet, and for some reason or another, i now know the entire timelines and histories of both the Friday the 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street movies. Don't ask why, really. I have no idea myself.

But now my dad's calling me to decide on what to order for dinner. It's just me and him for the next 3 days or so, since my mom's out of town on a conference of some sort, and my brother's at his prom right now, and will be at his afterprom until Saturday night. My parents, through some sheer loss of reasoning or magnetic waves in the atmosphere short-circuiting thier brains, have allowed him to go camping for 2 nights. Without supervision. Without a real means of contact. With the car. Yeah, something i wouldn't have been able to pull off when i was his age if i had a mind-control device and/or heavy blackmailing information on both my parents. And now i think i sound like some over-protective parent or a really bitter older-brother, or both, so i think i'll stop.

But back to the situation at hand, i was supposed to make something for dinner tonight for both me and my dad. I called him up earlier this afternoon and told him that i conceded: i couldn't think of a thing to make or find anything in the house that could be turned into a suitable dinner. He also conceded and now we have to decide what to order in for dinner. It's currently between wings and pizza or KFC or chinese. We're both not very good with decisions.

posted by Barry Hertz | 5:35 PM


Wednesday, May 21, 2003  

I just got sent this song by Dave (alright, so he sent it to me a couple weeks ago but i totally forgot about it and haven't listened to it until now) called "Battle Scars" by Ozma. Ozma is pretty much a weezer-ish clone, they even have a acoustic cover of "Across the sea" (which, as much as Dave will probably not agree with, is about a hundred times inferior to the real thing). But, the song "Battle Scars" has really got me hooked. I can't quite put my finger on it, but i've listened to it about ten times in a row already, and i don't feel like stopping anytime soon.

posted by Barry Hertz | 7:09 PM


Tuesday, May 20, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day: (Special "summer-ish songs" edition today, since yesterday i was stuck inside a darkly lit and, thanks to a broken thermostat, unbearably hot and humid projection booth for the entire day, while it was incredibly nice outside...and today it's just miserable...so i felt that some summer-ish songs are in order...)
Beatles - Strawberry Fields Forever
Grateful Dead- Sunshine Daydream
Dashboard Confessional - Hands Down
Sly and the Family Stone - Dance to the Music
Sly and the Family Stone - Hot Fun in the Summertime
Me First and the Gimme Gimmes - Seasons in the Sun
Lovin' Spoonful - Summer in the City
Weezer - Holiday
Beck - Tropicalia

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:21 PM


Friday, May 16, 2003  

I'm having a sort of peculiar, backwards kind of day. I noticed this first when i tried to pour a can of pop into a cup, only to realize as it was being poured that i was holding the cup upside down, and the ginger ale was pouring onto the kitchen counter.

Later, i tried to put on my belt before i put my pants on. Uhm, yeah...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:27 PM


Thursday, May 15, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day:
Sapcehog - In the Meantime (I've listened to this one far too much today..i accidently left it on "loop" and neglected to change it for about an hour or so...)
Michael Penn - Macy Day Parade
Dispatch - The General
Aimee Mann - Ghost World
Elvis Costello - Watching the Detectives
Paul Simon - Graceland
Neil Young - Don't Let it Bring You Down
Paul McCartney - Vanilla Sky
Coldplay - Shiver
White Stripes - There's No Home For You Here
Ben Folds - Philosophy

posted by Barry Hertz | 8:14 PM
 

The major tv networks in the US just announced all thier fall schedules. Normally i wouldn't really pay attention to this since i only really watch about 2 or 3 shows that are on right now (Seinfeld, Simpsons, Frasier, and South Park reruns not really counting...), but i was bored and found myself looking at what's going to be on in the fall. One new show on FOX this fall caught my eye.

Apparently Luis Guzman, one of the all-time best supporting actors ever (used all the time by directors Steven Soderbergh and P.T. Anderson), is getting his own sitcom. He plays a highly oppinionated donut-store owner in the Bronx. This could possibly be the best...show...ever.

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:53 PM


Wednesday, May 14, 2003  

About 5 hours ago i was probably more angry and frustrated than i've been in a long time. I was so mad and just fucking frustrated that my head started to pound and my heart was racing far too quickly. Fucking work, i just need to vent about it for a second. For the last little while management there has been making little change after little change, i didn't really pay attention to much of it, until tonight it reached a fevered pitch and i had a nice little *conversation* with my boss. Basically it went like this:

Me: I don't really like these changes that have been going around lately. (Uhm, so i really wasn't that succinct and everything, but it was the kinda sorta summary of what i said...include a lot of mumbling and stuttering and general nervousness of standing up to my boss...not a very fun conversation...but back to his response, which was in general the following...)
Boss: That's too fucking bad, i don't really give a shit. (Well, he didn't really use those exact words, but essentially that's what his response conveyed...oh, he also did say after that "we need both those matrix prints done by tonight", which didn't really help ease my steadily growing frustration....)

So, basically after that fun little talk, my head started to pound even harder, no tylenol or anything was in sight, and my mind basically began to slowly deteriorate. Then my stomach started feeling not that great (probably an aftermath of some apparently not-so-great sushi from earlier in the day). I've had better nights. I think i need some sleep...and tylenol...lots of tylenol...

posted by Barry Hertz | 1:17 AM


Tuesday, May 13, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day:
Beatles - Hey Bulldog
Broken Social Scene - Pacific Theme
Rushmore Soundtrack - Concrete and Clay
Paul Simon - You Can Call Me Al
Rushmore Soundtrack - Summer Song
Sam Roberts - When Everything Was Alright
Weezer - Only in Dreams
Van Morrison - Everyone

posted by Barry Hertz | 5:17 PM


Saturday, May 10, 2003  

I've watched far too much television/movies in the past few days. This occurred to me after i just finished watching the 16th episode of "alias", when i only started watching the first episode a couple days ago. This can't be good. I should really get outside, do some reading, maybe some writing, anything that's not as passive as what i've been doing lately, which is mainly sitting in front of either a computer or television screen. I can feel my mind beginning to rot, there's that kind of subtle hint of decay nestling around up there. Ugh, it's not the greatest feeling.

Of course, this is all totally hypocritical, since i love watching movies, and right now "alias" has gotten me hooked. I'm addicted to the damn thing. But then again, i should really read a book, i have so many laying around (i bought a whole stack load at the beginning of school, thinking in vain that they'd all be my "transit books", things i would read on the subway/bus on my daily 2 hour or so shuttle back and forth from school....well, of course i spent most of that time either sleeping, staring blindly at those bloody ads on the subway car, reading whatever small newspaper or magazine i could find, listening to music and zoning out, or studying last minute for a test or doing homework i put off...actually, at times i think i combined all of those activities...). And now that i look at that little bit in paranthesis, i realize, that's a fucking long block of text to put in brackets. And now i realize i'm totally off track.

But, back to reading. I should really do some. If not to get my eyes off whatever screen they're glued to, then to just make use of all the money i spent on books. Plus, some of these books i really, really want to read. I wanted to since the beginning of the year, but they've just stayed there on my shelf as i got caught up in reading all the books i *had* to read for class. Not that i read all those books, either, though. I find that's the thing, when i'm told i *have* to read books, i'll immediately dislike them, even if they're the greatest works ever published. I'll usually automatically dislike them, for the simple fact someone's telling me i have to read them. Thankfully that wasn't really the case this year. I found that a lot of the books i read for english were really very good, and that i didn't mind reading them at all (minus "heart of darkness", i don't think i'll ever truly enjoy reading that one...though i still love "apocalypse now").

Now that it's summer, though, i really don't have any excuse not to read all the books i've been putting off. Maybe i should just, instead of blindly staring at the various screens in my house, go outside for a nice walk, take a seat in a park or lay down on some grass and start reading. Maybe.

posted by Barry Hertz | 11:08 PM


Friday, May 09, 2003  

It's close to a quarter to 4 in the morning, and i can't sleep. I'm not quite sure why, i was just an hour or so ago exhausted from a night of work, but now i can't fall asleep. My mind doesn't seem to want to shut down. I don't even have anything to watch on my computer. I have a couple movies, but i don't want to start them now, i'll be up 'till dawn. A nice episode of south park or family guy or something would be nice, but i don't have any downloaded. My next best choice is an ep of Alias, and according to the download time i have only about 5 minutes to go on one episode that i've been trying to download all day. That's not quick enough, though. I should really just go to sleep instead of waiting this five minutes to watch a 45 minute show, but I probably won't.

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:57 AM


Thursday, May 08, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day:
Meat Loaf - Everything Louder than Everything Else
Hot Hot Heat - Bandages
White Stripes - Black Math
The Faces - When I Was Younger
Beach Boys - God Only Knows
Michael Penn - No Myth
Fiona Apple - Fast as You Can
Aimee Mann - Nothing Is Good Enough

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:07 PM
 

I had the most bizarre nigthmare last night. It was extremely vivid too, which made it all the more terrifying. I was alone my house for a week or so, no one else was here, brother and parents included, and i was simultaneously being attacked by some strange ghost and by that Jason guy from the Friday the 13th Movies. It was fucking scary as hell. I remember the dream finally ended when i ended up defeating both of these things, but then my parents came home and told me that there wasn't anybody that was trying to attack me, it was all in my head. I had dreamt the whole thing. Then i woke up. Pretty fucked up, if you ask me, dreaming in a dream.

I have an idea or two about what exactly the dreams were brought upon by. First off, for some reason i was looking at various web sites last night about the Friday the 13th movies (i was really bored) and as i was doing it, strange things kept happening. My bedroom door kept on bursting open at various times (turns out this was nothing more than the wind, but still freaky), and also someone began to throw rocks at my window (another explanation for this is that my idiot friend sharone, who was already an hour late in coming over to my house last night, decided to forget to do either the sane things such as knock on my door or call me to let me know he was here...no, he just decided to throw rocks at my window to freak me out...). Needless to say, this all freaked me out and probably led to my nightmare.

I don't have nightmares often, this is the first one i can remember in a good while, and when i dream it's usually pretty vague too. Though i do occassionally have the incredibly vivid dream, something that you know HAS to be real. Sometimes it just feels so tangible and, well real, that it's a real letdown when you wake up, having to face reality again.

posted by Barry Hertz | 1:06 PM


Wednesday, May 07, 2003  

My apologies to everyone over the years who i ignored when they tried to tell me the genius of "Alias" (yes, that's primarily you, mark..now i'm never going to hear the end of it...). I was intrigued by the supposed jaw-dropping, head-on-coffee-table-banging of this season's finale, so i decided to just start downloading some episodes starting from the beginning and see where it goes.

Of course, only 3 episodes in, and i'm already hooked. From reading occassional spoiler lists off of various web sites, i already unfortunately know too much about what's going to happen in the series, but it's still damn fascinating. The only problem is that each episode is pretty big, and takes way too long to download. 3 episodes alone took me a day or so each, so that means....well, i do have the whole summer to catch up on roughly 45 hours or so, so i think i should be able to do it...Of course, isn't summer for doing things outside, away from one's computer? Probably, but right now i just really want the fourth episode to finish downloading already.

posted by Barry Hertz | 8:18 PM
 

I was going to post something late last night about how much i love the Meat Loaf albulm "Bat out of Hell", but i got less and less enthused about the post as i cointued writing it. It turned out in the end to be more of just a gushing rant on how great Meat Loaf is. It wasn't anything extraordinary, but i guess i was just so caught up in the whole epic-like production of the albulm i was lost. Yeah, so the albulm "Bat out of Hell" is really great.

Today, i really don't feel like writing about music or anything like that. I don't really know what i want to write about. I'm kind of just sitting here at my computer after a busy, somewhat exhausting, day downtown with Sharone and Eli, contemplating several different things. Things that are vague and unclear and just not really due for total explanation at the moment. Yes, so instead of rabid praise of meat loaf, there's this mass blog of vagueness, sorry about that.

It's Wednesday, but i don't know if really feels like a Wednesday. More like a Tuesday, maybe even a Thursday. But definitely not a Wednesday. See, that last sentence probably made no sense at all, it was complete nonsense, but everything else is crowding my mind for space, that the confusion over which weekday it is was the only thing that managed to crawl out of there. Hmm, maybe i should listen to Bat out of Hell again and maybe clear my mind a bit. That sounds like a good idea.

posted by Barry Hertz | 5:18 PM


Tuesday, May 06, 2003  

(I originally tried to post this at about 2 in the morning last night, but blogger was not being co-operative…)

I thought about updating earlier this afternoon, but then my mind got sidetracked in one way or another. I'm not sure by what exactly, it wasn't as if i was doing anything terribly important, but one way or another, i didn't end up posting. So now it's close to 2 in the morning and i've decided this is the ideal time to post. My mind is relatively loose (well, loose is a kind word), i've got some good aimee mann/michael penn/fiona apple/ben folds playlist mix going on in the background, and my little desk lamp shining brightly on my screen. Everything seems ideal for a good, late-night post. But there my mind goes again, blank, with nothing much to say. Nothing profound or whimisical or earth-shatteringly relevant, that is. I mean, i do have things to say, philosophies to share, views to discern (i don't think i used that word in the right context at all) and ideas to pontificate (ditto). And i have been up to some things, both really fun (clothing show and dinner w/jacq and ellie and seeing jesse and eric before they left!) and not so fun (working and trying in vain to start writing something, anything, as some sort of vague project for the summer).

But i guess i'll settle for a good ol' ramble. I'm not too shabby at that, my mind tends to ramble and go off on incoherent tangents all the time...When it gets too early in the morning hours like this, you're mind begins to think of things that don't necessarily come out in the daytime. It doesn't really matter what specific kind of things, but just in general things that make it a little less easier to get some sleep, or that get your mind working in overtime and going on to a billion different tangents. Things like that, I suppose. This all probably sounds very vague and wierd and scrambled so much like eggs at a greasy spoon diner (ugh, my metaphors really suck at this hour).

I've been to my fair share of greasy spoon dinners though. I love most of them. I can still remember stumbling into some place on yonge and steeles or so called 'Midway Grill' or something, where one of my friends told me that the head fry cook there never ever leaves the restaurant. In all seriousness he said to me that he once came in at 9 in the morning one time for breakfast and the cook was there...only to also say he came in that very same night at 1 in the morning to report the cook was still serving up food then as well. And now you probably know how healthy this friend of mine eats, but that's another story. But i do remember that that place had a great burger. Just a huge slab of beef, but at whatever hour it was i ate there, it tasted like i've never truly experienced a burger until then. I'm pretty sure the time factored into this sensation somehow, though.

Yes, so that's my greasy spoon rant. It wasn't really much of a rant now that i look at it, a paragraph isn't much of a rant at all, but it's all that i can manage right now i suppose, with my mind constantly trailing off. See, right now i'm thinking about gnutella and how if we don't get it out of the house i'll pretty much be addicted to it. It's really bad to say, but today i literally just stuck a knife in the jar and just kept on scooping some out and eating it straight. No bread to spread it on or anything. Just straight out of the jar. It's a dangerously addictive substance. Seriously, the government should regulate it under crack cocaine or something, force it to be illegal and out on the streets. I can imagine it now, gnutella gangsters, dealing little jars on street corners and smuggling it through airports in suitcases. And there's a gnutella enforcement agency too, led by some guntella czar in washington or something, most likely played by michael douglas. Now the movie "Traffic" is stuck in my head, and now it's painfully obvious i should get to sleep.

posted by Barry Hertz | 4:58 PM


Saturday, May 03, 2003  

I'm just trying right now to get a counter going on this site, but there's a lot of techno-babble that i'm not quite sure of, so hopefully it'll work. Right now I'm listening to that song 'Flagpole Sitta' by Harvery Danger (don't worry, i don't remember them either), but it's a great, peppy, pop-induced rock song. Get's your feet tapping, even though the song seems to be about a schizophrenic who hates the world and ends up an amputee. But aside from that, a nice little song. A lot of songs do this, you listen to it, think one thing, but when you examine the lyrics everything seems to be a bit off. Mrs Robinson by Simon and Garfunkle is a wonderfully amazing song, but it details the descent into madness of Mrs. Robinson. Every Breath You Take is also a nice, sullen Police-era tune (or was it just by Sting? I don't remember) but it's essentially about a stalker, same with Coldplay's Shiver, at least I think.

I might be totally wrong on all these interpretations, but that's the great thing about being able to interpret in the first place, you get to make something, namely art i guess, form to whatever meaning you believe it takes. Who knows if that was the original intention behind it or not, though. I guess it really doesn't matter. Now I'm on to Johnny Cash's version of NIN's Hurt, both great songs, both radically different interpretations. Same thing with Tears for Fears' version of Mad World and the Gary Jules version used for the Donnie Darko soundtrack. Though i have to admit, there was really no way at all that Madonna was justified in reinterpreting Don Maclean's American Pie...

posted by Barry Hertz | 9:36 PM


Friday, May 02, 2003  

Soundtrack for the day

Run Like an Antelope - Phish
Where have all the good people gone? - Sam Roberts
Makin' Time - The Creation
Graceland - Paul Simon
It's All Understood - Jack Johnson
Nothing is Good Enough - Aimee Mann
Lost in the Plot - The Dears
Comfortable - John Mayer

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:31 PM


Thursday, May 01, 2003  

I know, it's been a while once again since a proper update. I've been really bad at updating, but now that summer's here, i'm going to try and keep it up on a more regular basis. Any ways, does anyone remember that song by Eagle Eye Cherry (or was it Eagle Eyed Cherry? Doesn't really matter I suppose, we'll probably never hear from him again) called 'Save Tonight'? Here's a bit of the chorus to refresh any memories:

Save tonight and fight the break of dawn
Come tomorrow, Tomorrow I'll be gone
Save tonight and fight the break of dawn
Come tomorrow, Tomorrow I'll be gone

I heard it last night coming home from work at some ungodly hour or such, and my mind just immmediately flashed to a billion different things. The song must be at least 3-4 years old, probably, and I remember it being really popular in what must've been either 10th grade or possibly 11th, of course 9th isn't out of the question either. But grade 10 sounds about right. As i was driving down some suburban thornhill or richmond hill road (i don't really remember where exactly i was) last night, hearing the song just immediately flashed to everything from that period.

Those weekend nights spent either in one of three places: friend's house, the movie theatre, or endlessly browsing the shelves at chapters...I kind of miss those times...I miss trying to sneak into r-rated movies because i just had to see 'bringing out the dead' (i know, not really the typical r-rated fare you'd expect a teenage boy to sneak into, but it was scorsese with tom sizemore, i can't pass that up). I miss browsing those endless shelves at various bookstores, searching for either the latest conspiracy-theory book to prove to everyone that aliens really did exist and the x-files was actually more of a documentary than anything else (no matter how many books i found, no one ever seemed to believe me). I miss playing endless hours of tony hawk's proskater on playstation in zach's basement, literally sweating blood and tears until i could master to break 100,000 points, even going as far to buy the game on N64, learning to master it, only to then find that everyone else lost interest in it by that point. Now i really want to play that game again, but i think i lost it, or it got stolen when we got robbed a year or so ago, shit.

Plus the song itself was really good too.

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:20 PM
archives
links