Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind
Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Weblog Commenting by HaloScan.com

Friday, April 18, 2003  

I've noticed that once again I've let the blogging slide for a couple days, so i thought i'd come back and try to write something (about exams, maybe, or some other stuff), but as i started typing last night, i couldn't for the life of me come up with anything. Complete blank. So, instead, here are some of my fav movies (it's a long list, they're also not all quote unquote "great" movies, but i think they all have thier own unique aspects of greatness), in no particular order (though some themes may pop up now and then), because i've gotten into the habit lately of forming lists...enjoy!

Royal Tennenbaums, Rushmore, Bottle Rocket, O Brother Where Art Thou, Fargo, Blood Simple, Hudsucker Proxy, Big Lebowski, Snatch, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Being John Malkovich, Adaptation, Confessions of A Dangerous Mind, Punch-Drunk Love, Magnolia, Almost Famous, Boogie Nights, Hard Eight, Fight Club, 12 Monkeys, Everyone Says I Love You, Glengarry Glen Ross, Annie Hall, Memento, Indiana Jones 1-3, Star Wars 2 and 4-6, Road to Perdition, American Beauty, Three Kings, Matrix, Dogma, Clerks, Chasing Amy, The Player, Short Cuts, Oceans 11 (both remake and original), Planet of Apes (original), AI, Made, Swingers, Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, JFK, Nixon, Natural Born Killers, Born on the Fourth of July, Any Given Sunday, Platoon, Wall Street, Apocalypse Now, State and Main, House of Cards, The Spanish Prisoner, Goodfellas, Gangs of New York, Casino, Raging Bull, Taxi Driver, Mean Streets, The Deer Hunter, Godfather 1-2, Back to the Future 1-3, Chicago, The Hours, Desperado, From Dusk 'till Dawn, Out of Sight, Amelie, Lord of the Rings 1-2, Traffic, Full Frontal, Bringing Out the Dead, Raising Arizona, The Thin Red Line, True Romance, Brazil, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, El Mariachi, Moulin Rouge, Forrest Gump, Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, Wayne's World 1-2, Tommy Boy, Billy Madison, Dirty Work, Good Morning Vietnam, Terminator 2, The Way of the Gun, Black Hawk Down, Go, Man Who Wasn't There, The 38 Steps, North by Northwest, Rear Window, Heat, Once Upon A Time in America, One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, Five Easy Pieces, Easy Rider, Shadow of the Vampire, Roger and Me, Bowling for Columbine, The Red Violin, Waiting for Guffman, This is Spinal Tap, Best in Show, About a Boy, High Fedelity, Say Anything, Vanilla Sky, Donnie Darko.... whew....

I'm sure i'm missing about two hundred other movies or so, but this is all I could get off the top of my head...perhaps I'll make this an ongoing kind of list...

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:22 PM


Monday, April 14, 2003  

It's been a fairly normal kinda past couple of days, i think. There was the eyeopener party on Saturday @ Vinnie's downtown, which was actually pretty fun. The place was really nice, and it was sort of like Dave and Busters up near me, but on a smaller scale. It had an arcade, pool tables, bars, a restaurant, the whole nine yards, so it was pretty cool. You could definitely spend a lot of money there if you had the opportunity, which brings me to another good point about the party, and that was free drinks. Yes, you heard me correctly, the eyeopener (campus newspaper @ ryerson for those who don't know what the hell i'm talking about) apparently held a tab of about $1000, so that meant plenty of drinks for absolutely nothing. Not too shabby at al. I did get a wee bit tipsy, but not too much...just enough to lose horribly to sue at foozeball, in which she really kicked my ass, hehe (next time we'll have a sober rematch...in which she'll probably beat me again too...) Me and Sue ended up staying there much later then we thought we would, we were both kinda afraid it wasn't going to be that great, but it ended up being a pretty fun night. So, that was Saturday...

The rest of the past few days have been fairly normal/boring/stressful/some other adjective i can't think of right now. I've spent most my time doing either 3 things:
1. working, 2. studying, 3. attempting to study only to find more and more things to preoccupy my time with than i would have ever thought possible before...damn procrastination....

Speaking of studying, i had my first exam today, which was sociology. Ouch, that's all i really have to say. It was not too fun...There were lots of little, specific, almost impossible to have noticed information on it, and sometimes it asked for these tiny, insignificant statistics for which i had no clue what they were talking about. All in all, not a great experience. Plus, add the fact that it was at 8 am, and you have yourself a pretty crappy morning. And now I'm just attempting to study for my french oral exam tomorrow, which i need to do good in, because i'm on a very thin line in that class...ouch....Of course you can all see how successful the studying's going if i've reverted to my blog already...but, as the french say, 'sacre bleu'....well, actually i've never heard a real french person say that, but that's what i say...it's pretty much the only french i know and it works for almost any occassion. This probably reads like a very dry post, but i suppose my mind is just in a billion other places at once right now....damn end of year stress...oh well, back to attempt to maybe start thinking about studying.....

posted by Barry Hertz | 6:25 PM


Thursday, April 10, 2003  

Argh, that's what i have to say about today. Well, argh and blah. It was a very blah kinda day. Not to get into too much of the gory details, but it's just that feeling when you get up and you can just tell it's not going to be a good day, just like everything is overwhelming and underwhelming at the same time. The worst part is when that bus ride to the subway comes around, and it's just so painfully blah. I'm sorry, i just can't really articulate it any better right now, just a blah feeling all around, i suppose.

posted by Barry Hertz | 11:19 PM


Wednesday, April 09, 2003  

Today was a lot of fun. In our reporting class, our prof took us all out for breakfast, that's right, our whole class (a good 30-something of us) at the golden griddle on college street, i mean carlton street, damn, i always confuse those streets... But it was really fun. Really expensive for poor ol' don too, it must've cost something like $400 at least...I mean, you have 30-odd people ordering at least $6-9 dollar meals, plus orange juice (which is expensive, believe me...i actually have a story about that...perhaps i'll tell it in this blog...), plus tax, plus tip...add all that up, and you have one hell of a bill. But still, it was awfully nice of him and it was a great time, everyone talking and having fun and everything. Very cool. Plus, the food wasn't too bad either. I had the rancheros heurvos (i know i had to spell some of that wrong) omlette with some very delicious pancakes...of course, i was a bit stupid and as soon as i got my food order i was so hungry i just immediately slathered on the maple syrup on the pancakes without realizing the syrup would seep into my omlette as well...damn...so my omlette had an interesting taste to it, but it was still very good.

After the whole breakfast thingy, we went back to class and took a big class photo. It was cool, felt just like high school in a way because of the class photos and everything (well, actually more like elementary school....) but not in a bad-i-loathed-high-school-sorta way, more in a, wow-this-is-cool kinda way, that being that everyone knew eachother and was having a good time and everything. In short, very fun, but very kinda depressing and a downer at the same time, because i realized that it was the last class i'd have with don, and he was definitely the best prof i've ever had, or likely ever will, so it'll be wierd not coming to class every wednesday morning, waiting for his jokes and lectures. So, yeah, it was kinda depressing in that respect, and the respect that i probably won't see a lot of the people from my section as much during the summer either, which isn't good, because everyone there's a pretty cool person and it's a great group to hang out with. Speaking of that, some of us all went out after the breakfast to play some pool at VIP billiards just on yonge. It was fun and relaxing and just plain ol' nice...Sigh... But i digress....

The orange juice story...yes, here it comes. This story has pretty much kept me in a self-imposed boycott on Golden Griddle for a couple years. Well, a couple years ago, for me and my friends' first edgefest experience, we decided before we drove up to the concert, we'd stop at the golden griddle to get some breakfast. All was well and good, until we foolishly ordered a drinks. We all wanted orange juice, but the waiter suggested we all split two jugs of OJ, since it would be more convienent. We all agreed, not knowing the dire consequences awaiting us. First off, the jugs were about the size of my fist or so, they were SO tiny....I'm talking miniscule here, the size of George W. Bush's brain or something...very, very tiny. Naturally, us all being growing boys, we drank whatever juice there was in less than a minute, and the waiter came over and promptly asked if we'd like a refill. Mistake #2. We naturally, ie. foolishly, believed refills were of course free. Not so. By the end of the meal, our orange juice alone had cost us something close to $25-30, something horrendous like that. Aghast, we all looked the bill in disbelief. This pretty much haunted the rest of our day at edgefest, well, not really, i mean we forgot about it by the time we got there, but it still made me vow to never order orange juice or anything from golden griddle. Of course, this didn't carry over into today's activities, primarily because i wasn't paying...but i think me and the griddle have had enough time apart from eachother, and it's time to make up...i can't hold a grudge forever...and from now on, i'm looking at the prices of orange juice before any smooth-talking waiter says otherwise...

posted by Barry Hertz | 7:00 PM


Tuesday, April 08, 2003  

It's currently 3:45 am, and I'm absolutely wiped, but i thought why not, let's give this blogger thing a whirl. This is Barry, for my first, i suppose 'official' post. Jacq did the last post for me (yay, jacq!) because i honestly had no idea how to start one...and it's gonna be hard to top, especially since she typed the first half of it out and still had the willpower to type it out again after this damn blogger erased it, which i hear it tends to do from time to time...But i'm gonna try my best....And i also have to thank her and Ellie for finally getting me to start one of these, and of course, after i registered and let it sit online with nothing, for finally getting me to actually write something down. Of course, i am a little tired, and my ears are still ringing from one of the most awesomely-amazing concerts ever (more on that in a sec)....So anything i say right now, well actually 'type' right now, but never mind the technicalities, are also half-coherent ramblings and stream of consciousness tangents, but then again, that's probably what the blog is always gonna be, so....

Any ways, yes, so the concert. The Everclear concert at the kool hause (but it'll always be the warehouse to me) tonite was, my i say, very very awesome. I'm sure Jacq and Ellie would agree too, especially because Jacq danced up on the stage with Mr. Art Alexakis!!! Very, very cool! (and great dancing too, Jacq!) Plus, Jacq and Ellie also went to the Edge, the 102.1 edge that is, and saw Art when he was there before the concert and got autogrpahs and hugs and the whole nine yards. I couldn't go because of my damn politics class, but oh well. The whole night was totally amazing and great and fun and one of the best concerts i've been to, in short a very very very fun night. Plus, there was the requisite drunk guy next to us who apparently was having some sort of deep, spiritual connection with the speakers, as he seemed to go up to them every now and then and just stare/put his head next to them. To each thier own, I suppose.

And of course after all that excitement, it's always fun to come home to a big, ol' information resources project due the next day. No, actually wait, it's not. But it does get better, for just as I'm about to print out my research log, my last, final thing to do and then i can kiss the project goodbye, my printer decides to go all Scorsese on me and decided that it didn't want to print my pages without making every other line fade out. So, thus begins the great freaking out of 3:30 am, and finally i manage to figure out a way to do it using the least amount of ink possible, until i just reach the last two pages and the thing nearly konks out completely. I spend the next couple minutes frantically tracing over the faded words with a pen, and finally i called it a day and shoved all the work in my backpack for tomorrow, when i'm sure i won't be the only one in my class who hasn't slept that much.

And now it's close to, well, close to late enough that sunrise isn't too far off, so i should probably try and go to sleep. And now the foo fighters are on my radio, and i can only think of the mentos-commercial-parody they used in the music video from the song, and from there i think i'd like some mentos, or some candy of any kind, and now my mind is lost in skittles and cadbury cream eggs, and i really think i should go to bed now...which i will....Good night.....

posted by Barry Hertz | 4:21 AM


Sunday, April 06, 2003  

"May I read it, ooor...?" - Barry

I'm sitting here listening to Ellie and Barry talk about ancient Egyptian rituals and hazings and human sacrifice. Yeah, you might have guessed that this isn't Barry. It's Jacq. Jacq typing the very first post ever to Barry's soon-to-be-existant blog. We just got in from a fire alarm. Take a look at the time. It's 12:15 am. We're not very happy people. Fire alarms have started to happen every week here at my res (which is where we all are right now). Last Thursday, the Thursday before... And, now Saturday. I should be in my bed at home. Actually, I'm glad I'm not in my bed at home. Actually, I'm sick, so I might like being in my bed at home. Except that I would have to deal with my mother, and that itself doesn't sound all that pleasant...

Right. So, why am I posting the very first post ever to Barry's blog? Well, because apparently, Barry's having some problems posting. This problem is the reason that Barry cites for not yet having a weblog. "Well, I signed up with blogger twenty-five weeks ago, and then I sat down to type my very first post, but... I just didn't have anything to say." Well, there's something that I have to tell you, Barry. That's the point. Take this post for instance. Have I said anything in this post? Really? No. In fact, I'd be hard-pressed, among the blogs that I read on a regular basis (and, believe me, there are many), to find a post that actually had a point. Nobody wants to read serious things that have a point. If somebody wanted to read serious things, they'd pick up a newspaper or flip through a textbook or something. Barry, you just have to let go. Am I right, people? (And, as soon as I have some more time with this blog, I'll stick up a commenting system-y thing, and then you can all tell Barry how you think that he should let go.) Just let it all hang out. Blogging's not supposed to be uptight. It's supposed to be casual and laid back and... pointless. Really, Barry. Embrace pointlessness. It's the only way. Like sex in university. No, I didn't mean to say that. It's waaay too late. People start saying crazy things when it gets to be late at night. This post has taken, ohhh... I'd say about three hours to type. It's 1:50 am. Now, it's later than that. Because I keep getting distracted. Wayne's World, Trading Spaces, fire alarms, little men with sketchy intentions...

And, Barry keeps trying to see what I'm typing, and I totally have to fend him off with a stick (that sounded more wrong than I intended it to sound). But, really, he keeps trying to climb up on the couch so that he can see what I'm typing. Did I mention the latest development? He's spending the night. That also sounds far worse than I meant it to sound. But, you heard it here first. On the couch. He's sleeping on the couch. Hey, and I have proof. Ellie's here tonight too. Ask her. No, don't ask her. She's all about the sexual innuendo tonight. She'd say anything to get a reaction. And, oh look. Another mop ad on TV. Too many damn mop ads. What's with people and mops these days. See, Barry. Another lesson in blogging. There's nothing wrong with stream-of-consciousness writing. And, sure, it may not make sense at... 2:35 in the morning (3:35 am, with the whole "spring forward" thing), but it fills space. And, by now, nobody's really reading your post anyway. They've skimmed the post for their name, read the relevent sentences, and moved on. So, why continue typing, you may ask? Because long posts make you look intellectual. I think. Maybe my plan is flawed. I really can't remember the merit of having longer posts, beyond filling space. I dunno... Filling space is a good enough reason alone, isn't it? Filled space is aesthetically pleasing, yes? Now, Ellie and Barry are talking about a man without a face. And, we're watching the cheesy Mel GIbson movie, Forever Young on TV. And, as the hours pass, I still haven't started that big, term-long assignment due on Monday. And, I'm being told that I have to go to bed. Apparently, I have to be awake tomorrow to work on my assignment for twenty-four hours straight so that I don't fail Info. Resources. And, I'm sick. Like, bad cold sick. So, if Barry gets sick, you know where it came from. (That sounded wrong too! I didn't mean it that way!!)

I'm going to bed, and so is Ellie and so is Barry. In separate beds, I assure you. And, hopefully, tomorrow, Barry will get a chance to post to his own blog, and you'll be rid of me. Probably gladly. And, awww... the ending of Forever Young... So sweet. Awww... go rent Forever Young. Or, don't. Sleep. Good night. (Stream-of-consciousness blog posts are soo hard to end.) Good night!

posted by Barry Hertz | 4:00 AM
archives
links