Confessions of a Reasonably Dangerous Mind
Let's call this one, punch-drunk blog...I have no idea what you should all expect...I haven't a clue myself. All I can say for sure, is that procrastination is a wonderful thing.
Weblog Commenting by HaloScan.com

Sunday, August 31, 2003  

Musings and My Summer Lament

I've been going in and out of my blog all day, each time writing this and that, little bits and pieces about what the summer has been like and various other stuff that's crowding my head. Each time i seem to delete everything at the last minute, i just get distracted with other things and the like. I'm really going to try and finish this post, though...Well, today i managed to finally get that damn internet router installed properly, which for a couple minutes made me the hero of the household (even though i had some technical support from others, but my parents don't *really* need to know that).

I'm also trying to figure out the name/artist of this song i heard on the radio a couple nights ago. I think it was Blur, i couldn't put my finger on it, but now the chorus keeps on repeating over and over in my head, almost taunting me for not knowing what it is. It goes "Oh no/She's got a secret now"...and then some indicipherable lyrics i couldn't make out but were also really quite toe-tappingly good. And i just used the words toe-tappingly, so moving on....

Ah, so yes, my summer recap. I sort of had this idea for a post going in my head since early July or so, but i didn't know if i'd actually follow through on it. In short it's been a really amazing summer, definitely the best one i can remember ever having. There was so much that happened and at the same time it was also very relaxing/peaceful. Almost too relaxing...it's going to be interesting to see how my summer-acquired sleeping habits will adjust to the school year...ah, caffiene will become my new companion. But, yes, the many highlights of the summer i guess can be best summed up with the following words: concerts, cottage, movies (definitely a summer-best of movies that perhaps even rivals the great 1999, with this year offering up Matrix 2, Finding Nemo, Whale Rider, Spellbound, X2, T3, 28 Days Later among many, many more) , museums, coffee shops, roller coasters, the best ice cream in the world, dvd-watching galore, park-side walks, sunsets, waterslides, bookstore visitations, downtown jaunts, late-night/early morning television, uptown pubs, late-night drive thrus, amazing friends and amazing times. I honestly couldn't have asked for anything more.

Sooo....yes, i am indeed going to miss it all. But, the good thing is that only a mere few sunrises from now, school will once again begin, and while i'm as anxious/nervous as always, i'm definitely nowhere near the rather unpleasant state i was in this time a year ago. Not even in the same universe. Annndd, with so much things to look forward to in the first week of school alone (Dave and Neil concerts, film fest, possible edgefest jaunt, too many dvd releases to count, and so much more...), this year is shaping up to be just as great, if not more amazingly-spectacularly-add-own-superlative-here-fun, as the past few months were.

Now, if only this episode of "Six Feet Under" would finish downloading already....

posted by Barry Hertz | 10:04 PM


Saturday, August 30, 2003  

I'm Lost In Technology, Sacramento

It's true, i think i'm fighting a bit of a lost cause. Well, it's not that bleak. But the past couple of days haven't been the best for me in my on-going struggle to understand technology...technology just doesn't seem to want to co-operate. And it's not only blogger this time (though i had a bit of trouble signing in today, because that home screen where it usually remembers my name and blog seemed to be blank, and i struggled for a good couple minutes trying to figure out what exactly my password is...i really should write these things down..) But I think technology itself just has the upper hand lately. And i think i've used the word technology wayyyy too much for one post, so i'll try and use a different word...uhm...can't really think of a good, technical substitute, so let's go with "sacramento". Yess...that'll do...

So, Sacramento has been giving me a bunch of problems lately, the biggest one being with this internet router i was supposed to install a couple days ago so my brother could use the net on his new comp...unfortunately the whole process devolved very quickly into me wondering what the hell i was doing, my brother storming out of the room several times, me cursing the good folks at whatever company made the router, and just basically a lot of not-so-good times. Then, ever since that whole fiasco, i've started to recieve an obscene amount of spam. Literally every two minutes some bloody message pops up promising wieght loss/celebrity photos/gambling/porn/kind-of-ironic ads offering to remove the spam itself sends and the like. There's always been a couple pop-ups here and there, but now it's almost at its breaking point. And then i found out somehow internet explorer switched it's home page to some weird spam site that specializes in, of course, porn/gambling/weight loss, and won't let me get rid of it. Thankfully my mom of all people helped me fix that problem, and that was just really embarrassing to admit...and now my cd player seems to be acting all nutty....it's only a matter of time before my cell phone just self destructs in the middle of the night...

annndd...i think i got that out of my system....alright, yes...hmm, and i think i managed to get through this post without being interrupted by a pop-up, so that's definitely a sign that things are getting better for me and Sacramento...assuming blogger doesn't delete this post, i think all is definitely getting back to normal...

posted by Barry Hertz | 11:45 PM


Tuesday, August 26, 2003  

Cheap Wings and Emotional Programming

It's pretty late right now and i'm more tired than usual, but i must describe possibly the greatest deal ever to involve cheap chicken wings. I just got back from this bar called "The Honest Lawyer" (it scores some definite points just for the name alone) and every Monday night they have not one dozen, not two dozen, or even three dozen, but ALL YOU CAN EAT chicken wings for only $10!!! (It definitely requires three exclamation points) Plus, it's not even just one *kind* of chicken wing...there's bbq, honey garlic, spicy...just endless baskets upon baskets of chicken wings....

And that's my chicken wing rant...but i also really wanted to talk about two really amazing and incredibly emotional shows (well, one's a movie, the other's a show) i managed to watch: the first episode of "Six Feet Under" and this dvd i rented called "All the Real Girls"...well, i've only seen half of the dvd, but so far both it and "Six Feet" really just completely absorbed me emotionally that i really can't even describe right now...maybe i should've waited until i was a little more awake to talk about them...Hmm, maybe tomorrow...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:49 AM


Sunday, August 24, 2003  

Losing 17-2? As the drunken guy behind us said, "They're the bunch of suckiest sucks that ever sucked"

Today was pretty much what came to be dubbed "Official Hertz Family Day". To sort of commemorate my grandfather's passing almost 3 months ago, and just as something to do all of us together, me, my parents, brother and grandmother went to the Jays game, since my grandfather was absolutely in love with everything related to sports, especially baseball (even though he had a strong love-hate relationship with the Blue Jays, for "obvious reasons", he would say).

It was actually a lot of fun, since i haven't been to the skydome in years. I didn't even know that McDonalds isn't the concession sponsor anymore (apparently it's Pizza Pizza now, which was not really that fun to find out since i was looking forward to those McDonald fries and the mess you'd make when you tried to eat them with ketchup while simultaneously sitting on those folding seats and trying to follow what was going on in the game). It also didn't hurt that we somehow managed to get seats that were covered in shade for the whole game too. The only disappointing thing was, though i should've seen it coming, was that the Blue Jays pretty much just embarrassed themselves out on the field, losing to Oakland 17-2. My dad suggested they should've just ran out of the stadium and seclued themselves from society right then and there when they let not one, but two grand-slams go through them. My grandmother and mom laughingly agreed. I now understand what my grandfather was talking about, since by the end i was almost cheering on Oakland to get more runs, just to see how badly the Jays could actually lose..

After the game, we all headed off to my cousin Ella's first birthday party, which was a little uptown. We were a little late, since the game ended just as the party was beginning, but it was still pretty fun too. I haven't seen such a large portion of my extended family in one room for a little bit, and there were lots of kids just running around all over the place, which was pretty fun to watch. Plus, Ella was really cute and happy and though she looked pretty much unware of what exactly was going on, she seemed to be having a great time. I also managed to talk to Ella's dad, my cousin Ryan, who apparently was also at the Dylan/Dead show with my other cousin David, and who also went to see Dylan at Niagra yesterday in an audience of only 3,000, which apparently was amazing. And as i read over that last sentence, i think i used the word "apparently" too much...uhmm...But, all in all, a good time. Plus, they had party sandwiches from Pickle Barrel, which i am easily addicted to.

We had kinda planned to go out for dinner afterwards, but everyone was exhausted, so that was pretty much the end for the Official Hertz Family Day, as my dad copyrighted earlier on. And finally, to top it all off, two episodes of "Futurama" on tv exactly when i got back...not too bad...

posted by Barry Hertz | 9:03 PM


Friday, August 22, 2003  

Soundtrack for the Day:

Jon Brion - Here We Go
Story of the Year - Anthem of Our Dying Day
Fenix TX - Ordinary World
Taking Back Sunday - Cut Without the E (Cut From the Team)
Bright Eyes - The Calendar Hung Itself
Flashlight Brown - Ready to Roll
Brand New - Jude Law and A Semester Off
The Starting Line - A Goodnight's Sleep
Super Furry Animals - The Undefeated

posted by Barry Hertz | 4:05 PM
 

Roger and Me

I couldn't really sleep again, so i decided to watch Michael Moore's "Roger and Me". The documentary is a sort of prequel to "Bowling for Columbine", about the hard times that his home city of Flint, Michigan had to deal with when GM closed one of its largest auto plants there back in the 80's. It probably wasn't the best thing to watch so late at night. But, the film, like "Bowling...", is such an incredible movie that i can't help but proclaim that Michael Moore is a genius. It can be hilarious at parts, and then without notice, turn incredibly depressing and disturbing. It's definitely worth a look, if only for the scene where Moore gets an Amway makeover.

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:10 AM


Thursday, August 21, 2003  

Midnight Madness and More...

The Toronto International Film Festival announced its final lineup today, and though i'm still holding out on "Kill Bill Volume One" somehow making its way there in a big-huge-surprise sorta moment, it doesn't look like it's happening. Oh well...But i went over the list a bit today and here's some of the ones that would definitely be worth checking out:

- "Elephant" by Gus Van Sant, which won the palme d'ors (i probably spelled that wrong) at Cannes
- "Zatoichi" starring and directed by Takeshi Kitano, which promises to be one of the to-be-and-end-all kung-fu films
- "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised", which i've heard is just this huge, epic-like documentary about the US media's portrayal of Venezula's Hugo Chavez
- "21 Grams", a multi-layered drama with Benecio Del Toro, Naomi Watts and Sean Penn
- "Lost in the Translation", directed by Sofia Coppola and starring Bill Murray (!!) looks amazing from the trailer i saw, and i hear it's another "Rushmore"-like performance from Murray (which of course calls for another "!!")
- "Casa des los Babys" by John Sales
- "Dogville", the dogme '95 protocol film by Lars Van Trier starring everyone from Nicole Kidman to James Caan
- "Greendale", Neil Young's experimental filming of his new, and apparently very strange, album
- "Gozu" and "Undead" look like the two most promising Midnight Madness films, which both deal with zombies in some way...
- "Dinner With Melvin", directed by "Mr. Show" creator Bob Odenkirk, would be really great to see, but i keep on reading in some places that the film's definitely playing, but the official site hasn't listed it anywhere...or maybe i can't find it...hmm, still would be great if it was playing...

...sooo, that's what just jumped out at me right away. I'm sure there's a whole slew of movies i missed, so i'm going to have to keep on going back and checking again...I'm pretty sure i won't get to see half of the ones i want to see, but hopefully some of them can be squeezed in here and there...

posted by Barry Hertz | 1:07 AM


Wednesday, August 20, 2003  

At 2:17 AM There's Always Something Interesting Running Through the Brain

I can't really sleep. This is not so much news, but during tonight's bout with insomnia i figured i could write some kinda interesting, weird, random observations...maybe it'll help me fall asleep, maybe...

- There's really a lot of bad reality tv on, but some of it is just hilariously bad. I don't know if it was the lack of sleep, or maybe i was hallucinating the whole thing, but i swear i just saw an ad on NBC for something called "Race to the Altar", where a flock of grooms and brides just appeared to be running headfirst into eachother, and then when it couldn't get any weirder, the deep announcer voice said "and then watch the couples perform a ring toss in las vegas, 20 stories high!!"....then for some reason they showed people in harnesses indeed doing ring tosses on top of some casino...i don't really see how this races them to the altar, so to speak, but it was all very funny...

- Bowling can be a lot of fun, as tonight demonstrated...and i was going to go on a bowling rant here, but i kinda lost track of what i was going to say...moving onwards...

- "Futurama" is possibly the greatest animated show ever...well, there's probably a good couple other ones to throw in there, but i'm on a pretty big Futurama-binge lately...good ol' Bender...

- "Punch-Drunk Love" is also becoming a strong contender for best movie ever...such a bizarre, beautiful film...and the Jon Brion song "Here We Go" from the short "Blossoms and Blood" on the dvd is strangely addictive...

- I really thought i had a lot of weird, random, semi-interesting comments to say, but they sort of all disappeared...i'm sure i'll get them back, though...maybe they'll all come to me in a dream...i just hope i don't lose them in another dream...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:40 AM


Sunday, August 17, 2003  

Dammit, Blockbuster, you've tricked me once more...

So, Blockbuster finally gets both "Punch-Drunk Love" and "Gangs of New York" on thier previously-viewed dvd shelf for sale, and then, almost magically, that "buy one get the second half price" offer thingy disappears. Into thin air. Just when they finally got the only 2 dvd's i wanted. I could hear the evil cackle of the corporate executives looming in the background...or maybe it was that creepy guy with the cape and mustache standing by the horror section. Or maybe that was a dream i had. Maybe i should stop writing and go watch "Punch-Drunk Love". That sounds like a pretty good idea.

posted by Barry Hertz | 11:30 PM


Saturday, August 16, 2003  

Radiohead....no longer...

So far the blackout has quietly taken out the plans of Freddy vs. Jason and now it's next victim has become the Radiohead concert tomorrow night....that makes me one unhappy camper...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:02 AM


Friday, August 15, 2003  

Power Outages Are Interesting...

Though trying to sleep in a house without air conditioning is, while interesting, not too much fun...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:58 PM


Thursday, August 14, 2003  

Rockin' the Suburbs

The Ben Folds/Tori Amos concert last night with Ellie was amazingly good fun! Definitely the highlight of the evening (though in Ben Folds set there were many) was him switching from piano to a drum set while the drum set was being assembled around him! Very very cool. He most definitely, in the words of the new 6-month-shared t-shirt (still can't believe they charged us $50 for that..) rocked that bitch. Songs laced with lots of profanity are also very cool, including the new, slower-paced "Breakup Song", which with the audience-lead "Army" was one of the best songs of the evening. The guy just has a great stage presence and is amazing to watch as he interacts with the crowd. Can't wait until he comes back to a smaller venue.

Tori Amos was also a nice contrast and companion to Ben Fold's level of intimacy and audience participation. While i admit i know pretty much nothing of hers, except for that one song at the beginning which i still can't name, she still knows how to put on a great show. The lighting, set, and her voice were all perfect, and even though i couldn't really understand what exactly she was saying most of the time (though we did pick up some, uhm, odd lyrics here and there), she really does have an amazingly powerful voice. I'm still a bit amazed she lasted so long, pulling off a nearly 2 hour and change set including two encores. All in all a most definite great time had by all.

posted by Barry Hertz | 1:24 PM


Tuesday, August 12, 2003  

More From the Best....News...Ever Department.

"Freddy vs. Jason" hasn't even come out yet, but the sequel rumor mills are already running rampant about what's next. I signed on to my regular stable of movie sites tonight to find out that the...best....news...ever could indeed be happening. "Freddy vs. Jason vs. Ash"!!!! The Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street and, the best of the best, the Evil Dead series could be combined into one huge epic. The ultimate trifecta of movie horror could indeed be realized. Bruce Campbell making another horror movie is good news enough...but, when you toss in the other two biggest horror icons in there, ohhhh my....The icing on the cake would be if they got Sam Raimi to direct, but that's probably just wishful thinking...

Though, if all this is true, which it probably isn't (but there's still hoping), it could indeed qualify as the best...news...ever.

posted by Barry Hertz | 12:58 AM


Sunday, August 10, 2003  

I Haven't Done One of These In A Bit, But There Are Some Obvious Influences I Guess

Soundtrack for the Day (well, uhm, more like evening):

Grateful Dead - Scarlet Bagonias
Grateful Dead - Sunshine Daydream
Grateful Dead - Ripple
Grateful Dead - Shakedown Street
Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited
Bob Dylan - Tangled Up in Blue
Bob Dylan - Twiddle Dee Twiddle Dum
Bob Dylan - Maggie's Farm
Jerry Garcia with David Grisman - Friend of the Devil
The Band - Up on Cripple Creek
Van Morrison - Everyone

posted by Barry Hertz | 8:25 PM


Saturday, August 09, 2003  

Dylan, the Dead, Darien Lake and (of course) Denny's: A Point-Form Adventure

Once again, i couldn't have asked for a more amazing concert-going experience. In short, it was really really a bloody good time. I'm a little tired, but i still want to update on the whole experience, so i think i'll try going with this point-form recap of the highlights:

- Driving there, hitting Kitchener/Waterloo and realizing we've gone about an hour off course; then driving into this town called "Drumbo" and stopping into "Big Mike's" gas station (which resembled one of those creepy places you see in the Twilight Zone/Tales From the Crypt that people go into, but never come out of), where we tried asking for Big Mike and directions, but instead got a short, Russian woman who actually gave us very good directions that managed to get us back on course fairly quickly
- The instant we hit the other side of the border, it was obvious we were in America; nothing but huge billboards of everything from beer to divorce lawyers (actually, that's pretty much describing 95% of the billboards, which were literally everywhere) and American flags...everywhere. We couldn't escape the barrage of flags at some points. I think i saw more flags than stop signs in most towns.
- American cola = very cool; among the rarities were Orange Mountain Dew (very good) and Cherry Doctor Pepper (not so much)
- Trying to understand gas prices in the states requires at least a university-entry level of calculus
- It's not fun arguing with a hotel manager that tells you that you need to be 21 to have a room, especially when that very same manager never said any such thing when you booked the room a little over a month ago
- It's much more fun walking down the street to a much nicer hotel and having the desk clerk take pity on you and give you the last room, and a much better room than the other hotel would have given you for about the same price
- Darien Lake itself seems to be a whole-sale copy of Wonderland, but about five times smaller; but still, with a ride like "Superman: Ride of Steel", it's hard to not have a great time
- Denny's is quite possibly the best restuarant to go to at midnight and eat breakfast at
- Bob Evans Restaurant employs probably the oldest employees i've ever seen; i felt at times like my grandmother was serving me, and i felt pretty bad for everyone who worked there; though they were awfully friendly
- Dylan was amazing, even if i couldn't really understand half of what he was saying
- Seeing a crowd made up of everyone from parents with thier infant children, college and highschool kids, middle-aged parents with thier children, and people that could be old enough to be my great-grandparents is very very cool, especially when pretty much everyone in that same crowd starts to dance when the music started and didn't really stop until the very last song (which again is something incredible, since the concert started at 5 and went straight through until 11:30...the Dead ended up playing a 3 hr and 45 min set)
- I've never seen so many tie-dyed shirts in my life
- Dylan + the Dead + 'Tangled Up In Blue' = Absolute brilliance
- The Dead can pull off one of the longest drum-solos i've heard outside of a Led Zeppelin song
- The nightly fireworks and laser-light show that Darien Lake puts on every night beautifully co-ordinated itself with the later half of the dead's set, which was definitely one of the coolest things i've seen
- Getting out of the Stones concert was nothing compared to getting out of the Dead; about an hour and a half later we found our way back to the road
- Apparently selling sushi out of one's van can be a very profitable business
- Trying to find an open fast-food place at 1 AM in the town of Batavia is pretty much impossible
- Small, American towns really fascinate me for some reason
- There's nothing better on television than "Myserty Science Theatre 3000"
- Once you have a good sense of exactly where to go, driving back home isn't too hard, though for some reason it's incredibly tiring

posted by Barry Hertz | 8:11 PM


Wednesday, August 06, 2003  

The Dream of Dictatorship is Dead

I really, really suck at "Risk". I even tried to just settle on Africa tonight, but no, then i had to get greedy and try and take over Asia again. It's too bad, because the way things were going, the game could've been mine if i just left some more troops in Egypt and didn't spread myself so thin...plus, i learned some of my friends can get pretty, uhm, violently agitated when it comes to the game. Nex time, that's it, i'm just going to settle on something nice and small like Australia. No one ever really has a problem with Australia, all tucked away down there. Yeah, Australia it will be.

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:08 AM


Tuesday, August 05, 2003  

Satruday Night Live Rant

So....as promised, my SNL rant begins. Just as a warning, like my movie trailer list a while ago, this is going to probably get extremely geeky and obsessive.

I guess i started watching SNL when i was around 7 or 8. I used to beg my parents to let me stay up late on saturday night, and sometimes i'd get the no-way-in-hell response, and other times it would be pretty easy. It varied weirdly like that. Back then it was the early Dana Carvey/Jon Lovitz/Mike Meyers phase, and I though Wayne's World was the supreme form of all comedy (which, of course, it is to this day).

Looking back on those years, especially when the cast filled out with Phil Hartman, Dennis Miller, Kevin Nealon, Jan Hooks, and early Chris Farley, were probably some of the best years on the show. Of course, i never really got to watch those very early first episodes with Ackroyd and Belushi and Chase, except in re-runs. The Samaurai Deli and the Chevy Chase's Gerald Ford imitations were hilarious though.

I'm just overly glad i wasn't around to watch the mid-80's debacle though. As much as i do love Gilbert Godfried, though...

When i got a little older, i would bargain with my parents. I could either stay up to watch SNL on Saturday nights, or stay up Friday for Letterman and Conan. Sometimes, though, i would manage to bargain both. But usually i would choose SNL. Most of the time i would regret it, though, since this was the years where they were just getting tired, like that episode a couple nights ago. David Spade, Farley, Adam Sandler, and Rob Schnieder were all in thier last season, and the only one returning would be Tim Meadows, who still wouldn't end up leaving until 5 years later. Which of course is perfectly cool, because with Tim Meadows and Tracy Morgan, i thought SNL had two of the most under-rated performers. But...this season or two things were getting pretty desperate. The strongest memory i have is just this one horrible, awful sketch involving Farley, Spade, and Sandler going to the zoo to visit the alligator exhibit. And then they all ridicule eachother and dare themselves to jump into the tank. Of course, after much yelling, each one goes in, then screams in agony as they presumably get attacked by the gators. This went on for something like 10 minutes until each of them were gone, and then David Duchovny, who was hosting, came on to tell the audience this was a true story, in his most deadpan voice. Then the skit ended. That was it. Yeah, things weren't looking too good for ol' SNL.

Then, the next upswing came when they pretty much re-cast the whole show, only keeping Meadows, Norm MacDonald and sporadic appearances by Spade when he felt like it, and added Will Ferrel, Molly Shannon, Darrel Hammond, Chris Kattan, and Colin Quinn. It took a season or two to find itself, and they wisely ditched David Koechner and the under-used Nancy Walls (who went on to better things at Jon Stewart's "The Daily Show"), and then the genius of Will Ferrel was there to bring everything up from the bottom.

Then there was the whole Norm MacDonald-Weekend-Update fiasco. There probably wasn't a better edition of Weekend Update on the show then the one MacDonald did with writer Jim Downey. Especially when he would blame random things on, you guessed it, Frank Stallone. Then, he made one or two, or forty, cracks about OJ Simpson, who was the west-coast president of NBC's buddy, and pfft, that's it for him. Bringing Quinn on to cover for him wasn't the worst idea in the world, but it just didn't work for whatever reason.

A season or two of that, and then came SNL's last great upswing so far. Tina Fey and Jimmy Fallon. Well, Fallon i'm not so crazy about, but head writer Fey hosting the update segment was the best thing the show did since hiring Ferrel. Since it was introduced with Fey and Fallon, it's kinda slid down the scale, but it's still the best part of the show. Especially now with Ferrel, Morgan, Kattan, and Shannon gone.

Sooo....i think i got that out of my system now.

posted by Barry Hertz | 3:25 PM
 

On the Fritz

Before i get to the title of this entry, i just finished watching "Solaris", which i've been meaning to see for a while now, back when it was in theatres, and just didn't get around to it. I finally got around to renting it tonight, and it has to be one of the most elegant, strange, and thought-provoking film i've seen in a long time. I can't really do it justice in describing it right now, mainly because i'm about to fall asleep as i'm typing, but it's just really brilliant. Soderbergh and Clooney can do no wrong.

But....back to the title. My computer has been acting extremely weird as of late. Yesterday, that little ICQ icon on the bottom of the screen said i was n/a mode, even though i was really online. Not such a big deal, it happens all the time, and usually just rebooting the computer will fix it. But...the only problem was that i couldn't reboot at all. I tried going to that section in the "Start" part of the system, and clicking on "shut down", but nothing would happen. It wouldn't restart, it wouldn't switch users, nothing. So, this kind of got me a little concerned, and i took out the battery, which usually does the trick and shuts the whole thing down, with this wierd noise though that sounds as if i'm killing the computer very slowly. But...nothing. It still was on. It was if i was stuck in some really bad horror movie..."The Computer That Wouldn't Die".

Eventually, i don't really remember how, i managed to get it to go into the hibernate mode. I tried restarting, and now my mouse was going at a hyper active speed. Literally, i just brushed my finger against the touch pad, and it was if the little arrow was a crystal meth addict. Plus, if i tried to click on anything, it wouldn't work. My frustration was growing. Plus, that stupid ICQ icon still said i was in n/a mode, even though i got back online. And by this point i was running late for work, so i just removed the battery again, this time it worked, and hoped that somehow during the time i spent at work, it would fix itself or something.

When i got home, it was working again. No problem. Nothing to worry about. Then....this morning my internet explorer doesn't work. ICQ and Kazaa are fine, but the IE gives me something about "not being able to connect to the server". I try shutting it down, hoping another reboot will do the trick. Of course, shutting it down isn't really in the cards, and i once again have to leave for work, and let the passing of time do it's magic.

Well, uhm, since i'm writing this everything seems to be okay so far. Still not able to actually shut the damn thing down, though. I keep on having to remove the battery, which i'm pretty sure isn't such a great thing to do over and over. I dunno. And looking over this entry i realize that i think i wrote just a little too much about the whole situation...

I really meant to write a big, long rant about Saturday Night Live tonight, since that last entry kind of got me thinking about it's whole history of ups and downs and everything, and i was actually thinking about what i would write today while i was at work. Tomorrow, i guess...

posted by Barry Hertz | 2:25 AM


Sunday, August 03, 2003  

Good Idea, Bad Idea...and some Saturday Night Live

Good Idea: Eating a nice bowl of apple cinnamon cheerios with milk at 1:30 in the morning.

Bad Idea: Abandoning that plan and instead eating a bowl full of nachos with salsa and hot sauce, with a glass of chocolate milk at 1:30 in the morning. Damn temptations...

...And now i'm watching a bit of some old Saturday Night Live from the early 90's. It's pretty weird, since it's that year where they went from the transition of having Sandley, Farley, and Spade to next year's Will Ferrel and Norm MacDonald year. It just seems like the show's about to die, just right there on the spot. But, there's a really amazing Green Day performance of "When I Come Around" on it too, so that pretty much makes up for it.

posted by Barry Hertz | 1:49 AM


Saturday, August 02, 2003  

The Rolling Stones, AC/DC, Good weather, and Great friends.

I couldn't have asked for a better concert-going experience. Well, uhm, yes, there were some mis-haps/adventures along the way, but the whole day added up to most excellent times had by all. And i think i just sounded a bit like Bill and/or Ted in that "most excellent" part, but that was a pretty good movie, so i'll let it slide...Though i do think Part 2, "Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey" was actually much better than the first one. After all, how often can you see William Sadler as Death complaining that he lost at Battleship? And...now i think i've totally lost track of what i was saying... Maybe i should lay down for a bit...

posted by Barry Hertz | 6:12 PM
archives
links